



THE 2013 "SIMONE DE BEAUVOIR PRIZE FOR WOMEN'S FREEDOM" WILL BE AWARDED TO MALALA YOUSAFZAI.

For the 6th edition, the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom has chosen to honour the young Pakistani human rights activist, Malala Yousafzai. The prize will be presented to her on the 9th of January 2013 during the official ceremony which will take place at la Maison de l'Amérique Latine, Paris.

A symbol of the fight for girls' right to education, this 14 year old girl who has been blogging about her daily life since 2009, remains hospitalised in Birmingham, England after being the victim of an assassination attempt by the Taliban.

Chaired by Josyane Savigneau (writer and journalist for *Le Monde*) and accompanied by honorary presidents, Julia Kristeva (professor at the *Paris Diderot University*, writer and psychoanalyst) and Sylvie Le Bon de Beauvoir, the jury consists of public figures from the world of arts and literature. The Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom was created to mark the 100th anniversary of Simone de Beauvoir's birthday by honouring men, women and associations who, in the spirit of Simone de Beauvoir, fight to defend women's rights wherever they are compromised. The prize, accompanied by 20,000 euros, is supported by the *Institut français*, the *Paris Diderot University* and *Mazars*, international audit and advisory group.

By awarding the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom, the jury wishes to make a contribution to international solidarity, reaffirm women's rights around the world, guarantee protection for those who currently risk their lives and stand alongside them to defend the ideals of equality and peace.

According to Xavier Darcos, President of the Institut français, "The Institut français fully supports the Simone de Beauvoir Prize in connection with the French cultural network overseas and promoting women's freedom around the world. I congratulate the jury of the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom for having made the decision to award the 2013

prize to Malala Yousafzai who embodies the fight against all forms of fundamentalism and intolerance."

As for Philippe Castagnac, CEO of Mazars Group "We think that companies are not just about turnover, they are primarily a matter of values. For four years Mazars has been committed to a diversity policy in order to achieve a better representation of women in the company. Furthermore, this prize is in line with the 'Human Rights Audits', because without women's rights, there are no human rights. We are proud to support the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom which will honour an international woman who supports women's freedom."

For Vincent Berger, President of the Paris Diderot University, "Being a partner and supporter of the Simone de Beauvoir Prize year after year is a profound demonstration of our university's historic commitment to the accessibility of knowledge for all, without prejudice and without borders. Awarding this year's Simone de Beauvoir Prize to Malala, who has risked her life fighting for girls' right to education, is in keeping with the commitment of our university's community. This young woman and her struggle has urged us to do more in our missions in favour of gender equality among children and adults and for everyone's right to education."

Malala Yousafzai

Born in Mingora 1997 in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan, Malala Yousafzai is a symbol of the fight for girls' right to education. She lives in Mingora, the main town in the Swat district in northwest Pakistan, an area which is close to the influence of the Taliban. As a symbol of the fight for girl's education and against the Taliban, she has received several awards from the Pakistani government in relation to their political stance while her region is currently caught in the middle of a struggle between the Pakistani Taliban and the army.

On the 9th October 2012, Malala was severely injured in an attempted assassination, an attack which has been condemned by all Pakistani political members. She was transferred to a hospital in Birmingham, UK on the 15th of October in order to receive more advanced medical treatment.

The Simone de Beauvoir Prize

Created in 2008 to mark the 100th anniversary of Simone de Beauvoir's birthday (9th January 1908), each year the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom is awarded to laureates who are elected by an international jury. The prize, accompanied by 20,000 euros, is supported by the *Institut français*, the *Paris Diderot University* and *Mazars*, international audit and advisory group.

In January 2012, the Simone de Beauvoir Prize was awarded to the Tunisian Association of Democratic Women and was awarded to Ludmila Ulitskaya the year before in January 2011.

Simone de Beauvoir

Simone de Beauvoir, French philosopher, novelist, essayist and author of 'The Second Sex' in 1949, was a major theorist and feminist in the 20th century. Throughout her life she has demonstrated her full support of the defence of women's freedom in numerous ways.

The jury of the Simone de Beauvoir Prize for Women's Freedom

Members

JOSYANE SAVIGNEAU (President of the prize committee, journalist for Le Monde) JULIA KRISTEVA (Founder and President, professor at Paris Diderot University, writer and psychoanalyst) SYLVIE LE BON DE BEAUVOIR (Honorary President of the prize committee) ELISABETH BADINTER (philosopher) **CONSTANCE BORDE (translator)** GÉRARD BONAL (writer) CHAHLA CHAFIQ (writer and sociologist) DENIS CHARBIT (professor of French Civilisation at Tel Aviv University) CÉCILE DECOUSU (PhD student) ANNIE ERNAUX (writer) CLAIRE ETCHERELLI (writer) MADELEINE GOBEIL-NOEL (Former head of Arts at Unesco) SIHEM HABCHI (President of Ni pute ni Soumise (Neither Whores Nor Submissive)) LILANE KANDEL (sociologist) AYSE KIRAN (Doctor at *Haceteppe University*, Ankara, Turkey) CLAUDE LANZMANN (writer, editor of the journal Les Temps Modernes) BJORN LARSSON (writer, professor at Lund University, Sweden) LILIANE LAZAR (Simone de Beauvoir Society, USA) ANNETTE LÉVY-WILLARD (journalist for *Libération* and writer) ANNE-MARIE LIZIN (politician, President of the Women's Council of Wallonia, Belgium) SHEILA MALOVANY-CHEVALLIER (translator) MALKA MARCOVICH (historian) KATE MILLETT, (writer, artist, painter and sculptor, USA) YVETTE ROUDY (French Minister for Women's Rights from May 1981 to 1986) DANIÈLE SALLENAVE (writer) ALICE SCHWARZER (writer, Germany) MARGARET SIMONS (professor of philosophy, Southern Illinois University, USA) ANNIE SUGIER, (President of the Lique du droit des femmes (The League of Women's Rights)) LINDA WEIL-CURIEL (lawyer) ANNE ZELENSKY (President and Co-founder with Simone de Beauvoir of the Ligue du droit des femmes (The League of Women's Rights))

PRESS CONTACT

Mazars Sandrine Verdelhan sandrine.verdelhan@mazars.com